Fraps to Youtube

Status
Not open for further replies.
I record my game at 60fps and then I previously used Windows Live Movie Maker to convert them to 1080p, but I noticed a significant quality loss.
I want to compress the file with littlest quality loss and then upload it to youtube and whatever it would do to it.
Any suggestions? Ive heard h264 is pretty good but I dont know what to use.

Additionally, would it be better to record at 30fps rather than 60fps for youtube videos?

raffriff

Staff member
Site Contributor
Here are my settings in a great, free, H.264 encoder, x264vfw. All the options for H.264 are explained here.

x264vfw-setup-ABR7k+notes+ff.png [updated 8/24]
[EDIT - scroll down for slightly better settings]

...note, these settings are for uploading to YouTube, not for ultimate quality. Higher bit rates just seem to make the uploaded video noisier/blockier in my experience, but try it yourself, with short (like 10 sec) test uploads. I'm still learning, trying to get better quality from the Tube.

[EDIT - my YouTube settings are for racing games, which have lots of movement, all the time. Encoders usually give fast-moving sequences less quality, reserving highest quality for scenes like panoramas and closeups. That's why my settings are different from those you'll see recommended elsewhere, for example here, here, and here.]

Thanks for information, and I had to take a crash course in compression to understand properly. The file I tested went from 187mb to 4.5mb, so was not expecting that. For "Ultimate Quality" what would the settings be for 264?

If I aim for 1080p, would the lower res suffer as a result?

raffriff

Staff member
Site Contributor
For "Ultimate Quality" what would the settings be for 264?
(updated 12/30) Changed my mind on this a lot. I've updated post #8 for home theater, archive etc.

If I aim for 1080p, would the lower res suffer as a result?