Recording Stereoscopic 3D with FRAPS and LG 2342P Monitor

Discussion in 'FRAPS Help Requests' started by Zoomer, Mar 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I was hoping somebody might be able to help me with recording a stereoscopic 3D video using FRAPs and an LG2342P monitor. I have very little experience with both FRAPs and 3D technology so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

The LG 2342P monitor is a passive (polarised) 3D display. It can play movies recorded in most formats (i.e. side by side, top and bottom etc) but works by interlacing the images. I tried to record some in game footage of Counter-Strike:Source but FRAPS didn't capture the images seperately (for example side by side) and instead captures an interlaced image. This means I can't upload the video to youtube (as a 3d video) and I am only able to watch the video in 3D when my monitor is set to 2D mode.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. raffriff

raffriff Moderator Staff Member Site Contributor

Could you link to a sample video? "Interlace" means alternating lines - is that what you have?
    Is the Fraps video alternating left/right frames? If so, you can convert with an Avisynth script. I can write one for you if needed, but search the net first.

3. I'm not home right now but when I can I will produce a sample and upload it somewhere. Yes I do mean interlace(d). My monitor splits the left and right eyes into alternating lines, each line is polarised differently to work with the polarised glasses. FRAPs is recording that video in the same way it would be recorded if you pointed a video camera at the screen (i.e. still interlaced).

I should have also pointed out that I have tried both the free and paid versions, both of which don't show the option to "capture video in stereoscopic 3d" as can be seen in this image on the FRAPS FAQ page.
    [​IMG]

Is this because stereoscopic is now autodetected or has it been disabled for some reason?

Thanks again.